Posted on: Oct 16, 2013 at 10:29
Posted In:

Forwarded by Gene Steele
The second full season of the Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series for
traditional wingless sprint cars wrapped up in dramatic fashion
Saturday night. An incredible 54 car field signed in to attack the
fables high banks of the most legendary dirt track in the nation, the
Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio. Broken Arrow, Oklahoma driver Brady
Bacon would score his first ever BOSS victory, but the event saw the
race for the season championship come right down to the final laps of
the main event, where Tony Beaber was able to keep his closest
challengers in sight to secure the 2013 title.

The evening began with a bang, literally for Beaber who came into the
night with an 18 point lead over Brandon Spithaler. In hot laps,
Beaber had something break on the #3T Beaberbuilt chassis sending him
on a wild series of flips through turn 2. With the chassis destroyed,
he would opt to jump into his father's car, and start at the rear of
his heat race in the #3J car.

Entering the program, five drivers still had a legitimate shot at the
2013 BOSS championship. In heat race action, 3 of the 5 drivers
managed to transfer to the night's main event including second in
points, Brandon Spithaler, third place Mike Miller, and fifth place
Kirk Jeffries. Beaber and 4th place driver Aaron Middaugh were
relegated to the B-Main events. The five BOSS heats were won by Drew
Abel, Dallas Hewitt, Jarrett Andretti, Matt Westfall and Brady Bacon.

The twin B-Mains proved very tough and the second B-Main would play a
pivotal role in deciding the championship. In what may have been the
Cinderella story of the night, 2012 BOSS champion Dustin Smith of
Russiaville, Indiana charged from 5th to win B-Main #1 in the Burkin
owned #48x car powered by a steel 305 cubic inch engine. Adam Miller
of McDonald, Pennsylvania was making his first start at Eldora and he
managed to score the second and final transfer spot.

B-Main #2 found points leader Beaber starting from the #6 spot with
only the top 2 finishers transferring to the main event. California
driver Thomas Meseraull jumped out to the early lead leaving BOSS
points contenders Aaron Middaugh and Beaber fighting to keep their
2013 title hopes alive. Still nursing some soreness from his hot laps
crash, Beaber was able to race through the pain and get up on the
wheel to charge into the runner-up spot to secure his spot in the main
event behind B winner #2 Meseraull. Middaugh faded late to 4th, thus
ending his title hopes as BOSS young gun Michael Fischesser, in his
Eldora debut, charged from 12th starting spot to finish 3rd. Although
one spot short of the transfer, he may have been the fastest car on
the track in that event.

With the 24 car starting field now set for the 25 lap finale, four
drivers remained eligible to win the title. Beaber held a slim 15
point lead over Spithaler with Mike Miller only 31 points from the
championship lead. Kirk Jeffries would start in front of all 3, but
needed a lot of luck in his favor to pull off the championship.

Multi-time BOSS feature winners Justin Grant and Luke Hall would lead
the field to the starters green flag. Hall, the defending winner of
the BOSS/Eldora finale last season, shot to a quick early lead with
Westfall in tow. But Brady Bacon made it quickly evident that he was
the man to beat as he moved from 8th to 4th in less than a lap.
Through the early and middle stages of the race, Hall, Westfall and
Bacon put on a non wing sprint car driving clinic with slide jobs and
crossovers the order of the night. The trio were three wide for the
lead on lap #8 and again at the line to complete lap #11 was nearly
another 3 car dead heat. On lap #13, Bacon was able to take a clear
lead with Westfall still giving chase.

Back in the pack, the fans had their eyes on 12th starting Chris
Windom who was up to 4th by halfway. Also on the move were Gary Taylor
in the Hery #40 who had started 14th and Thomas Meseraull in the
Stensland #41 who started from 22nd. Also, the race within the race
found Kirk Jeffries running highest among the championship contenders,
but unable to put enough distance between himself and the other 3
points chasers. Beaber, Miller, and Spithaler ran very close together
the entire 25 laps, which played to Beaber's advantage. Late in the
race, Beaber was able to get past Spithaler and kept Mike Miller
within sight, allowing Beaber's 17th place finish to secure himself as
the 2013 Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series tour champion.

Meanwhile, back up front, Bacon had opened up a comfortable lead, but
Windom in the Walker #11 was still the man on the move. Bacon
encountered heavy lapped traffic as Windom worked past Westfall to the
runner-up spot. Over the final 2 circuits, Windom was able to shave a
half second off the lead gap, but Bacon was not to be denied on this
night as he cruised home 1.726 seconds ahead of Windom in a race that
went green to checker with no cautions and 23 of the 24 starters
finishing the race. Westfall held on for 3rd place with Dallas Hewitt
up from 10th to finish 4th in a substitute role for Chad Wilson who
was injured the night before. Gary Taylor rounded out the top five
with a 14th to 5th place run. The rest of the top 10 were Justin
Grant, Luke Hall, Jarrett Andretti, Brandon Whited and Kody Swanson.

The final BOSS points standings were as follows: 1st- Tony Beaber -
2332, 2nd- Brandon Spithaler - 2314, 3rd- Mike Miller - 2309, 4th-
Kirk Jeffries - 2266, 5th- Aaron Middaugh - 2262, 6th- Chad Wilson -
2182, 7th- Michael Fischesser - 2115, 8th- Adam Miller - 1991, 9th-
Johnny Beaber - 1978, 10th- Chuck Wilson - 1876

The Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series thanks all the drivers, teams,
tracks, and fans who supported the series and we look forward to
bigger and better things in 2014. Banquet details will be announced
soon and will be held sometime in late January. For more information
on the series you can phone 740-703-3768 or e-mail or log on to the website at
Comments On This Article